The Word Association

Eileen Ramsay

Eileen RamsayEileen Ramsay was educated in Scotland, the United States and Mexico where she studied Spanish and Mexican culture, especially music. She taught at a prestigious girls’ school in Washington DC and, for a time, at the nursery school started by Jacqueline Kennedy. During the 1968 Presidential campaign Eileen lived with the family of a democratic candidate, acting in loco parentis while the parents were out-of-town but occasionally travelling with them.  She married a fellow Scot and moved to California where she completed her Master's Degree – and her family.  Her first published stories were written for her sons.  Since returning to Scotland she has been both secretary and treasurer of the Society of Authors in Scotland and Hon. Sec of the Romantic Novelists Association. 

For more information visit

Latest News

Some time ago, I announced that there was a new project underway for Eileen Ramsay. I’m delighted to say that Harper Collins commissioned me, as RUBY JACKSON, to write an exciting series of books entitled CHURCHILL’S ANGELS, those wonderful women of WW11 who did everything in their power to aid the war effort. The first two books in the series were published this year. Churchill’s Angels in May and Wave Me Goodbye in November. There’s more information on Ruby Jackson’s page but here are a few snippets from the many reviews.

Ruby Jackson's historical setting is superbly drawn and totally believable, and this adds much to a thoroughly good read.

Ruby Jackson really knows how to write a page turner… a great story with believable characters, look forward to another!

…very touching passages on the impact of the war - both large and small - on civilian life.

In the meantime, several of her earlier works have been reissued – in some cases having been rewritten – and are available on Amazon Kindle.

tere The Mysterious Marquis, a Regency, first published by Warner Books, New York.
Lace for a Lady, a Regency, first published by Severn House.
Never Call it Loving, a contemporary novel, first published by Severn House.
Butterflies in December, a WW1 saga first published by Little Brown.
Sakura and Other Stories. A collection of previously published short stories.


THE MYSTERIOUS MARQUIS (Walker and Company New York 1985) THE BROKEN GATE (Warner Books 1994) THE DOMINIE'S LASSIE (Warner Books 1995) BUTTERFLIES IN DECEMBER (Little Brown & Co 1995) WALNUT SHELL DAYS (Little Brown &Co 1997) THE QUALITY OF MERCY (Little Brown and Co 1997) HARVEST OF COURAGE (Little Brown and Co 1998)  NEVER CALL IT LOVING (Severn House) LACE FOR A LADY (Severn House) SOMEDAY, SOMEWHERE (Hodder 2003,  German, Dutch and Spanish editions)  A WAY OF FORGIVING (Hodder 2004  German and Spanish editions)  THE STUFF OF DREAMS (Hodder 2005  German and Spanish editions)  RAINBOW'S END (Hodder 2006  German and Spanish Editions)  HENRIQUETTA'S TREASURE (2008  German and Portuguese editions).
She has also written a number of serials for women’s magazines; these have been published by Magna Print, and Ulverscroft.
For children:  JULIUS P ( Reed Educational Publishing 1996) DANGER BY GASLIGHT (Scottish Children’s Press 1998).  Her work also appears in anthologies published by Ginn and Company.