The Word Association

Rory Clements

Rory Clements RORY CLEMENTS is the award-winning author of the John Shakespeare series of Elizabethan thrillers - and has now turned his attention to 1930s Cambridge. His new book Corpus, to be published by Bonnier Zaffre in early 2017, introduces us to Tom Wilde, a maverick history professor with a taste for whisky, boxing and the study of espionage.

After a career in national newspapers Clements now writes full-time in Norfolk, England. His first book, Martyr, was shortlisted for the CWA John Creasey (New Blood) Dagger. Revenger won the prestigious CWA Ellis Peters Award 2010. The third in the John Shakespeare series, Prince, was shortlisted for the Ellis Peters Award 2011. Traitor was published in 2012. The Heretics was published in 2013 and was shortlisted for the Ellis Peters Award. The sixth novel, published in 2014, was The Queen’s Man. The seventh, Holy Spy, published in 2015, reached the Top 10 in the Sunday Times bestseller list. He has also written an ebook novella, The Man In The Snow. Screen rights to the books have been bought by the Mammoth Screen production company.

Clements is available for literary events and is always happy to talk about life in the 1930s and the late 16th century. He is a member of the Crime Writers’ Association, the Historical Writers’ Association, the Society of Authors and the International Thriller Writers. His books have been sold to 12 countries.
For more information visit

Latest book: CORPUS

Rory Clements - Corpus 1936. Europe is in turmoil. The Nazis have marched into the Rhineland, Stalin has unleashed his Great Terror on the Soviet Union, and Spain has erupted in civil war. InBerlin, a young Englishwoman evades the Gestapo to deliver vital papers to a Jewish scientist. Within weeks, she is found dead in her Cambridge bedroom, a silver syringeclutched in her fingers. In a London club, three senior members of the establishment light the touchpaper on a conspiracy that will threaten the lives of royalty and government ministers. When a renowned member of the county set and his wife are found horribly murdered, a maverick Cambridge history professor finds himself drawn into a world of espionage which, until now, he has only read about in books.But the deeper Thomas Wilde delves, the more he wonders whether the murders are linked to the death of the girl with the silver syringe - and, just as worryingly, with the scandal surrounding King Edward VIII and his mistress Wallis Simpson.Professor Wilde’s specialist subject is the Elizabethan secret service. With the spires of academia drenched in blood, he must use all the skills he has learnt in his dusty tomes to save the woman he loves and prevent a massacre.


1586. In London’s smoky taverns a conspiracy is brewing, and John Shakespeare must infiltrate the plotters. However, equally presing is the murder charge against the woman he loves. As he battles unseen forces he begins to realise that his investigations are inextricably linked - by corruption at the very seat of powerHOLY SPY is the seventh book in the John Shakespeare series of Elizabethan thrillers. Published by Hodder & Stoughton, 2015


A conspiracy to murder Elizabeth and free her cousin, the Queen of Scots, takes John Shakespeare home to Stratford-upon-Avon, where he discovers that his own family is caught in a web of terror.

THE QUEEN'S MAN is the sixth book in the John Shakespeare series of Elizabethan thrillers. Published by Hodder & Stoughton, February 27 2015.


1595. When Spanish galleys land in Cornwall and burn four villages, the Queen is speechless with rage. John Shakespeare, chief intelligencer to Sir Robert Cecil, is ordered to get a grip on events. But then things begin to unravel as, one by one, his network of spies is horribly murdered. What, though, has all this to do with Thomasyn Jade, a girl driven to the edge of madness by the foul rituals of exorcism? Could it all be linked to a group of priests held prisoner in the bleak confines of Wisbech Castle? From the torture rooms of Inquisition of Seville to the marshy wastes of fenland, from the wild coast of Cornwall to the sweat and sawdust of the Elizabethan playhouses, The Heretics builds to a terrifying climax that will threaten the life of the Queen herself.


Tom Wilde series

CORPUS is the first book in the Tom Wilde series of 1930s thrillers. Published by Bonnier Zaffre 2017.

John Shakespeare series

MARTYR (John Murray, 2009), US edition (2009) published by Bantam. Published in the Netherlands as MARTELAAR by Karakter, in Germany as SEELENFÄNGER by Bastei-Lubbe and in Italy as LA RELIQUIA E LA CROCE by Piemme; REVENGER (John Murray, 2010), published by Bantam in US in 2011 and in Italy as IL PERSECUTORE by Piemme; PRINCE published by John Murray, 2011; TRAITOR published by John Murray, 2012; THE HERETICS, published by John Murray, 2013; THE QUEEN’S MAN, published by Hodder & Stoughton, 2014; HOLY SPY, published by Hoddr & Stoughton, 2015. Other foreign editions in Hungary, Turkey, Poland, Russia, Norway and Czech Republic. Ebooks published in US by HarperCollins/Witness.THE MAN IN THE SNOW, a John Shakespeare novella, published as an ebook by John Murray, 2012, also included in the Hodder & Stoughton paperback edition of THE QUEEN’S MAN, 2014.